California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/06/05, 8:44 pm

Legal Question


Naturalization application hold up

Situation:

Aug 2004 -- Applied for naturalization.

May 2005 -- Went for the Interview in San Francisco office. On the N-652 form, the officer checked ''You passed the tests of English & US history & govt.'' However, at the bottom, he also checked ''A decision cannot yet be made about your application.''

I asked why and he said he couldn't tell me. It is nothing I can do and they will follow up.

Aug 2005 -- Went to the San Francisco office to check on the status. The immigration officer told me she will check with the officer who interviewed me and I should get a response in 30 days.

Sept 2005 -- Went to the San Francisco office to check on the status again since no response in 30 days. I was told that case like this can take up to 2 years and I just have to wait.

Oct 6 2005 -- Still no response.

Questions:

I need help from someone who can check with USCIS and tell me what is going on. I just don't understand if there's something wrong, why would they ask me for the interview. My cousin applied 1 month after me, and she already took the Oath Ceremony in August 2005.

Please help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search