California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/20/06, 1:38 pm

Legal Question


Can Co-author publish derivative works without other authors permission?

Two people wrote a book. One author has gone on to write other books that can be considered derivative of that first work. The other author is a professional ghost writer who has assisted other celebrities with works that have nothing to do with this book. Does one co-author need the other authors permission to publish derivative works? Absent this permission is the co-author entitled to 50% of the proceeds of these derivative works? Is this governed by copyright law or some state law?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search