California  |  Investment Law

question bubble
1/19/10, 1:10 pm

Legal Question


Dear Lawyer,

I've been researching on the best location to start our L.L.C. investment company, and found Nevada to be the ideal State due to its lower tax rates. I physically reside in California, and our business is conducted by trading U.S. stocks through internet, and our IP addresses will be in California. My question is that even though we conduct business in Nevada, with all our mail service and bank accounts registered in Nevada, are we still going to pay a double franchise tax to both California and Nevada if we are found to be doing the trading from a California internet IP address? I'd appreciate it if you could answer my question.

Jason


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search