California  |  Investment Law

question bubble
8/06/09, 8:06 pm

Legal Question


Last May 1, 2008, I invested money with my "then" money manager who is part of a small family based investment company. I am located in Southern CA and he and his company is located in South Carolina (he relocated).

An "investment note" of 12 months was signed, entered upon May 1, 2008, and expired July 1, 2009.

I was asked to sign another note, this time for 24 months which I declined. I have asked for my investment back several times but they are not listening to me.

Do I have any legal recourse to get my money back.

On another note, but equally important, The investment note in question was a small part of all the money that they were investing for me at one time. They carlessly lost thousands upon thousands of dollars in the stock market. Yes, I am aware of the depression the country is experiencing. However, I believe that my accounts were passively watched over and not actively guarded. Having said that, this is the last of the remaining money I have with them and I want it "yesterday".

I hope there is some action I can take other than constantly emailing them to return my money.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search