California | Investment Law
Legal Question
Investment
Invested 25000 in a company in Nov of 2004- promised double on my investnent (50000)in 1 yr it has now been 4 1/2 yrs. The company will not let me see the books, tax returns,etc although I have made repeated request both verbally and written with a new excuse everytime as to why I cannot see where my invstment has gone. Also within the last year I had my wages garnished because they refused to get me the proper documentation to prove I had invested the money (repeatedly asked for a year) and had to pay the taxes on money I no longer posessed. In the last weeks things have become more insistant as to seeing books and or resolving my investment issues. I have a contract that states that the investment will be paid back in a reasonable amount of time (but what is a reasonable amount of time) the one year promise was a verbal statement. I have also been promised that my losses through garnishment would be covered and or documentation would resolve the situation, I am now on the 11th month of negotiation for this alone. At this point they are refusing to supply me with documentation, no longer answering either personal nor business line. What can I do to get my investment back? Is it leagal to withhold information from an investor?


