California | Investment Law
Legal Question
investment in an event
Is there a certain percentage that people receive on an investment with no gurantee of return
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: investment in an event No.
Investments fall into two categories, loans and equity.
Loans include an expectation that the investment will be repaid sometime, usually with interest, and often the loan will be secured by some kind of collateral or guarantee, such as a bond, a deed of trust, a security agreement, or the like.
Equity investments do not include an expectation of repayment at a fixed time or on a fixed schedule. Instead, people who buy stock in a company, one of the more common ways to make an equity investment, expect to share in the profits of the business, either through dividends or through its long-term growth.
Anyone who puts money into a venture without either a promise of repayment or the realistic expectation of sharing in profits is probably better known as a donor than as an investor. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Mark A. Tepper P.A.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-11
Search Questions and Answers


