California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/23/09, 1:05 am

Legal Question


Hello,

1) What is the California Statute of Limitations for an employer (LAUSD) seeking

to collect an overpayment of wages due to a payroll department error?

While they initially contacted me over a year ago to set up a "Recoupment"

meeting via a letter that I immediately answered, they have yet to provide me

with a meeting, nor any evidence regarding their alleged overpayment.

2) If LAUSD damages my credit, have I any legal recourse?

In their last letter to me dated June 15th (following several messages that I left

the district to please contact me regarding a meeting), they threatened to sue

me and/or refer my matter to a debt collection agency.

3) I purchased a home based on the wrongful wage information provided by LAUSD

in 2007 (even as I argued that the overblown figure could not possibly be my

salary), and had to then take additional, otherwise unecessary university

courses to bump up my salary and afford the home. Have I any recourse

against LAUSD for this fault? Can I hold them liable for these expenditures?

Thank you so much for your time,

Alicia Crespo


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search