California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
12/31/04, 1:59 pm

Legal Question


Altering Timecards

I recently worked over night for my company on a job that they were doing. I arrived on the job at 10:30pm and left at 7:30am the ext morning. There were two of us on the job and we both worked the same hours except the other employee had to take some material back to our shop (from Downtown to East County, San Diego)so he clocked an additional half an hour. The supervisor on the job who was only there for a little while during the middle of the shift claimed that we did not work as long as we did and altered our timecards without our knowledge or consent to what he felt were the hours we worked. It cheated us out of a good chunk of OT. Is it legal for them to do this? I did really work those hours and he wasn't even there so who is he to say when we got there and when we left? I thought there was some kind of law about altering time cards without the empoyees knowledge but I wasn't sure so I wanted to find out before I say anything to the boss.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search