California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
5/19/08, 5:42 pm

Legal Question


California Labor Law

I am currently amidst a 12-day work week. The first three of with are normal 9-5 days, then eight days of 12-hour days, then one 8-hour day … then a normal two-day weekend off. So basically I have 128 hours in 12 days.

This is a normal week for me. My position is ''entry-level'' but I do manage/oversee interns.

Rather than getting any overtime they say I am an “exempt” employee. Meaning I don’t get overtime … I am on salary … $36,000 a year. But I also have expectations to come in for a couple hours every now and then on my ''off'' weekends.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search