California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
1/02/01, 2:03 am

Legal Question


''Elderly person that has been fired without cause''

My Mother is 62.5 years of age. She has been employed at K-Mart for 13 years. She was let go (fired) on December 26, 2000. The reason they gave was due to budget cuts. I thought California was a right to work state. She had two and a half years to full retirement. She does not understand her rights. She has had no problems with job performance, has recieved awards and has used one day of sick leave in several years. I don't see how they can do this to a senior citizen as well as someone with seniority. Is this leagal and if not how do we fight it? Also she did not get a 2 week notice or vacation pay. Thankyou for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search