California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
5/10/07, 7:43 pm

Legal Question


can I get fired for filing for unemployment

I am a pt employee at a banquet facility. There are banquets year-round but the summer season is definately much busier than the rest of the year. Because we got less business than usual this winter, my supervisor urged us to apply for unemployment. When we did, one of us received a call from the owner stating that if unemployment comp were pursued, the employee would be terminated. The other did not receive the same threat, but upon filing (and receiving) unemployment, neither employee was ever scheduled again. Is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search