California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
4/23/07, 12:04 pm

Legal Question


Foul Language at Work

Private company. Progress meeting. 4 attendees. H/R-Accounting; CIO; VP Biz Dev. and Underwriting. I am CIO (male) and rpt to CEO (who is VP Biz Dev. husband!). She uses ''F'' word twice to accentuate her dissatisaction w progress. Dissatisfaction fine, language choice not. Deserved or not is another debate but I am hurt that she found it neccessary to degrade me to that level in order to communicate her desires to me. I cannot stand to hear that language at work especially in front of two other ladies. I'm no prude but I found the behavior reprehensible from her exec level. As CIO, do I have to report this? I did ask her never to use that language around me again when we were alone after the meeting to which I feel she was honestly sorry. What do I have to do according to CA law? There were two witnesses.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search