California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/16/08, 2:59 pm

Legal Question


Wrongful Termination/Discrimination

I was working for a company while I was pregnant. Unfortunately, due to early pregnancy complications, my Doctor informed me that it was necessary to put me on bed rest for a couple of weeks. I provided my employer with the Doctor’s note for time off. While I was off from work on my Doctor’s order, I received a telephone call from the Vice President of the company indicating that I was terminated and accused me of using my pregnancy as an excuse to receive time off. In addition, I never received an oral or written warning. This came as a total surprise to me since I was being trained to perform additional job duties and help out in other departments of the company. It has been a month since I gave birth and am now unemployed. I received unemployment for some time, but it has now ran out.

I also have reason to believe that I was discriminated against (will explain over telephone).

My question: Can I file a claim against my former employer for wrongful termination? How long do I have to file the claim?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search