California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
What do I do?
The situation:
My tenant stopped paying rent after a few months. First eviction attempt failed. My property manager has been accepting partial rent payments since the first failed eviction. We requested that the property manager stop taking partial payments and evict again. The property manager tells us the second eviction failed because the judge ruled to take the full amount of one month's rent and allow the tenant to finish occupancy for this month (what loophole is this?!). This property manager never contacts us about status updates. I have to always track her down to get answers. The lawyer fees are adding up without any resolution. Every time we attempt an eviction, it takes almost two months (7 weeks for this last attempt) to find out it failed. It seems like the tenant knows how to wait until the last minute to get the eviction overturned and continue living in my property. This is in Alameda County in California.
What do I do?


