Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

My landlord and her son have entered my unit many times without advanced notice (basically violating code #1954). I wrote a letter to her a few weeks ago again asking her not to do that and told her that she was violating my rights and privacy. Yesterday, I arrived home early to find a stranger in my unit trying to change the locks on my door. When I asked who let him into my unit, he said that the landlord's son did. The landlord came to my unit to apologize, but I no longer feel safe and cannot afford to move. Per LA housing authority's request, I filed a police report on the same day.

I feel like at this point, I have few options. Ideally, the landlord would pay my moving costs to avoid the legal consequences of my complaints. I also feel like time is running out as I cannot sleep peacefully or live in the unit any longer.

I live in LA County. Your insight is greatly appreciated.

Asked on 6/12/13, 9:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Armen Tashjian Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Change your locks so you can be safe and take legal action.

Read more
Answered on 6/13/13, 9:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now