California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
4/16/02, 8:30 pm

Legal Question


Attorney drops client

Can an attorney (medium sized firm) call and drop a client (plaintiff) who has a full contingency contract for no reason? The owner of the firm cited irreconsirable differences and filed ex-parte and requested to speed the motion for leave and failed to notify me. The whole notice came as a surprise to me and the attorney who was assigned to my case. I have disclosed my evidence to the defendants and cannot find another attorney due to my case is already in progress and in part to my large contingency case. The attorney did say it was not financial. I have never complained, created conflict and or had my lawsuit changed. I have the proof to show the judge that I was not at fault but fear I may have to drop my lawsuit if the judge ok's his request to leave. What can I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search