California | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Legal Malpractice Law
I hired a lawyer to represent me in my workmans comp. She then filed the claim againts my employer. One month later, the lawyer for my employer wrote us a letter and told me that I did not meet the criteria for such a claim (I was employed for only 4 months. I need to be employed at least 6 months to qualify for stress disability according to the labor code) any claim by me shall be meet with strong opposition.
Four months later, my lawyer told me that I don't have a case. It took her 4 months to tell me that, when she should have not taken the case in the beginning. She was also been told by the other party 3 months prior. She never contacted me or give me an advise about this matter. She doen't know the law when this case is her specialty.
I was very optomistic all along that I have a case when actually there is none. Because of this, I suffered about $20,000.00 of lost income for 4 now going to 5 months. I'am devastated by this and more angrier at her than my employer. She gave me false hope and wrong advise, because of ignorance of her specialty of law.
Do I have a malpractice case? Please advise.


