California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
1/31/00, 3:54 pm

Legal Question


Malpractice or Fee Reduction

I am the Plaintiff in a defamation suit that is in the settlement phase. I have agreed to the settlement because my attorney, from a defense firm, does not want to go to trial and does not fight for me. I have done 99% of the work for him: prepared all deposition questions, prepared transcripts of tape recordings, prepared agruments, compiled legal research, prepared discovery items, etc., etc. There is no way where my counsel is morally entitled to his 33 1/3 contigency fee. I am not particularly interested in enduring the rigors of a malpractice suit even though, because of all the incidents involved, I feel I have a strong case, but maybe a plea for reduction in fees.

What are my options?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search