California | Native American Law
Legal Question
financial woes
Hi,the question i have is,i am Native American,and i ve been hearing of funds my family and i are able to recieve?i know my tribe.....what else do i need to do.?pls help.......ty
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: financial woes Eligibility for tribal benefits may depend upon one or more of several criteria, but the most usual are (1) tribal membership, and (2) residing on the reservation. Other criteria could be age, need for a benefit (such as schooling, health care, job retraining and so forth).
Each tribe sets its own criteria for membership, usually based upon ancestry. Often 50% ancestry from the tribe is required, but this varies.
I believe most tribes have membership evaluation committees or officers and standardized processes for receiving and processing applications from persons claiming to be eligible for membership.
Due to the recent influx of casino-based wealth, a lot of tribes have many new applications, some questionable and some downright fraudulent, so the process of qualifying can be slow.
Assuming yo aren't currently an official member of your tribe, you should contact its member application screening department or official. You can find tribal Web sites on line, then an e-mail or two or a phone call or two should put you in contact with the right person. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Thomas F. Gallagher
San Diego,
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-23
Gallagher, Krich & Bobrow APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
Finestone & Richter
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-30
Law Office of Julian Summers
Indio, CA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-27
Watkins Firm, APC
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


