Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

My a/c unit dripped a small amount of water to my downstairs neighbors a/c closet.

She wants to get the damage repaired and has told me she will "send me the bill". I told her I would not simply "pay the bill", and have the right to get my own quote for repairs and choose who I want to fix it, since I am paying for it. She disagrees, and has threatened legal action.

What do I do in this situation? What are my rights?

Asked on 5/16/13, 2:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joel Selik www.SelikLaw.com
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You have the right to view, and have someone photograph and analuze the damage. You should simply inform your insurance company and they will handle all of this.

Read more
5/16/13, 2:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now