California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/19/05, 6:38 pm

Legal Question


don't do business w/family

my husband & i are in a real estate partnership with his

brother. we acquired this apartment through an uncle

who owned it with our father, my husband & i paid back

a loan incured by our father whom has since passed

away. my husband at the time thought it to be a nice

gesture to include his brother on the deal. with the

stipulation that everything would be split 50/50. didn't

turn out that way. my husband and i have basically done

everything. the only time the brother has helped was to

pay 1/2 of the remaining mortgage that came up

short.(sum of 4k total) we have agreed to divide the

property and make the brother responsible for any

costs incured during this last year including what is

owed to the bank. the question is,'' does a grant deed

stipulate what % a person should own? keep in mind

that john doe and jane doe bought the apartments and

did all renovations and upkeep. the grant deed reads,

'' john doe who acquired title as john doe, a married

man as his sole and seperate property and bill smith,

a single woman as joint tenants hereby grants to john

doe and jane doe, husband and wife, and bill smith, a

single man, all as joint tenants.'' please help


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search