Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

I am in California. In 2010 due to the economy I was behind in my HOA fees and made arrangements for payment for current Fees and past due fees being current for about a year and a half.. last year I had a flood cause by a neighbor unit plumbing pipe in the common area wall which according to HOA ccrs they would not cover other than clean up it cost me personally $15K to repair (I was in between insurances ) and house tenant relocation since this is a income property. I fell behind since the funds to repair wiped out my allocated HOA fee savings. now they are foreclosing on me. I have a pending small claims against them to try to reclaim my losses yet they have a schedule foreclosure sale date weeks after, they are using the services of a large firm to handle foreclosure and the complex has limited funds in general in their HOA budget. They just got served on my small claims...would this make them hesitate foreclosing or is there additional advice you can give to stop this HOA foreclosure. I am current with the Bank. I have a strong case against them with tenant and neighbor witness to the issue and evidence receipts it was a HOA problem. There is 200K equity in the property which I wanted to use later for retirement. I wish to keep home.

Please advise

Asked on 8/28/13, 8:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The only things that will stop a HOA foreclosure is to either show that you do not owe the funds, the lien procedure is defective, or pay the amounts owed, plus fees and costs.

Read more
8/30/13, 11:46 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now