California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
6/20/04, 3:28 am

Legal Question


Transfer Disclosure Statement and Temites Infestation

I bought my first home in 2002. The escrow was closed on Aug 7, 2002. The seller stated that there was no major problem with the house on TDS. However, I recently found out that house is infested with termites. The termite inspector told me there were mud tube stains in the garage that have been existed before I bought the house. There were piles of boxes and stuff in seller--name removed--garage at that time, but the garage was accessible. Those mud tubes were hiding under the boxes. Can I ask the seller and his agent for compensation for not disclosing this fact? The seller must seen the signs of termites when he was moving. Second, automated garden sprinkler system doesn't seem to work. The seller didn't disclose this either. I found out this lately because I always water plants manually. What are my remedies? Do I have a case? Termites treatment is very expensive. Please Help me. I'd really appreciate it.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search