California | Securities Law
Legal Question
Joint tenant survivor
I live in California. My mom and dad lived in NY. My mom died in 1991. My dad died in 2008. Stock dividend checks have been issued to the three of us as joint tenants. They are issued to ''A & B&C Jt Ten.'' My bank won't cash the checks even though I presented death certificates of my parents. They say I need to have the check reissued in my name only. The stock company says that the SEC will not allow them to reissue the checks in my name unless forced by a court order. The checks are less than $1,500. 1. What can I do to get my money? Some checks were sent to State of California Unclaimed Property. 2. To get that money do I need to submit special documents for joint tenancy when I submit the claim form to the State of California?


