California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
9/19/02, 2:11 pm

Legal Question


Sexual comments

About one year ago a male employee was hired by the small company that I work for bringing the total of full-time employees up to 4. He constantly ''explodes'' at me. However, his explosions have been getting more violent and sexual in content. His most recent comment was, ''I don't know if you have a hard-on for all salesmen, or if it is just for me?'' This comment along with comments about my needing to be a ''mother hen'' more in the workplace as well as comments about ''blowing ether up our customer's skirts'' have been making my work environment unbearable. Recently the President of the company commented on the amount of my mistakes increasing and my ''sullenness'' in the workplace. When I reported the comments to the President right after they occurred he said ''I'll handle it,'' however the perpetrator went on vacation. When he came back the President said that he did not want to ''stir the pot'' as things seemed to have cooled off. What can/should I do about this? I dread coming to work every day!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search