California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Sexual harassment entrapment
I have a situation at work where I got pretty close with one of the executives. Nothing ever happened other than some flirting, some sexual innuendo, some touches and some friendly embraces. Things started getting too intense, so I backed off. When I tried to explain why, the executive overreacted.
I was verbally reprimanded by human resources for giving the executive my written explanation. I then tried to verbally explain to my boss what had happened and that I was concerned about sexual harassment issues raised by what the executive had done. He said it was basically unworthy of discussion -- that the matter was closed.
Two weeks later, I was written up by my boss for something in relation to this situation that I did not do. (I learned after the fact that a known outside party had sent the executive an e-mail.) It was implied in the memo that I was creating a ''hostile work environment'' for the executive when I had done nothing but treat the executive professionally.
My concern is that they are trying to set me up and fire me for sexual harassment. I have written a response to the memo and am afraid that when I turn it in, they will fire me. Do you have some advice? Thanks.


