California | Tax Law
Legal Question
Can I determine how much, if any, inheritance tax I will pay?
When my mom died she left a house to 3 children that is 100% paid for. One sibling got a loan on the house so he could buy it from the other two, and he is giving us cash for our share of our mom's estate (that also included cash and personal effects). My question is, will I have to pay tax on the amount my brother pays me for my 1/3 of the estate? If so, how can I calculate the amount? (Is it added to my income taxes as ''income''?) Thank you!


