California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Hello,
My father recently passed and left a life insurance policy and a pension behind. My sister is listed as the beneficiary on the life insurance, but there is no beneficiary listed on the pension. What will happen with his pension? Does the fact that she is listed as the beneficiary on the life insurance policy automatically entitle her to the pension as well? Are we able to sign an affidavit in order to receive the money? There will be no probate process due to his small estate. My sister and I are the only heirs.
Also, since my sister is listed as the beneficiary on life insurance policy, does that mean that I have no legal right to the money? My father intended for the money to be divided among us equally.


