California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
4/27/02, 9:17 pm

Legal Question


Legality of unfiled trust

My dad just died and he left a will and a living trust. The

trust says my stepmother is to keep the entire estate until

she dies and at that time all monies, etc. will be turned

over to me. My dad never filed this trust and now my step

mother refuses to allow me to make a copy of the trust. She

has since made her adult daughter executor of the estate at

her death. This trust says I am to inherit everything at

her death however and my step sister says she'll be fair and

divide assets up between me and herself and other siblings.

This was not my dad's wishes at all. My dad, stepmom and I

also had a verbal agreement on top of everything for my 3

kids college fund but my stepmother refuses to discuss the

issue with me since his death. Question is, does this trust

have to be filed prior to his death in order to be legal and

is it possible to force her via a court to give me a copy of

this trust? I am starting to think she has ulterior motives

and no l


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search