California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Bequeath to a non non-related minor
I want to bequeath my motor home and car to a 16 year old boy, who is unrelated to me. He'll be 18 in January, 2004. He is like a son to me, but we have no legal ties. His mother is homeless and lives nearby. He's currently living with me with his mother's permission. He has little contact with his biological father, who lives out of state. His mother and father never were married. If I die before he turns 18 (I'm currently in good health at age 58) would this property be put in trust for him automatically? Or would his mother and/or father claim ownership? Should I leave this property to my nephew, who will be my executor, with the understanding that he will turn it over to this boy upon his 18th birthday? I can trust my nephew to carry out this wish. I know you lawyers hate this, but I want to do this using only my Family Lawyer program. Thanks for any assistance.


