Legal Question in Criminal Law in Colorado

My husband is trying to get a job and we had a domestic dispute about 3 years ago. Either his probation officer or his lawyer said it would be hidden from his record when he finished paying the court fees. He just got a job pending his background check, but the background check came back that he pleaded guilty to domestic violence. He was told by his lawyer that he had to plead guilty, when I don't think he really did, but because he admitted to's on his record. It was a misdemeanor in harassment, not domestic violence. How can we either get it to show what it really was or hidden? We would prefer for it to be hidden like someone told him it would be.

Asked on 9/30/13, 6:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Clifton Black Black & Graham, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If he plead guilty to a charge to harassment and the alleged victim was person he had an intimate relationship with, it is domestic violence. By statute this cannot be sealed.

Read more
Answered on 9/30/13, 10:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Colorado

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Adam LambertThe Law Office of Adam S. LambertNew Orleans, LA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now