Legal Question in Entertainment Law in Connecticut

Copyright, Entertainment, and DVD sales

I'm with a performance group that has been performing to a niche but fervent audience. It benefits non-profit organizations and nobody is paid. the director now wants to sell DVD's of the shows.

Problem is, we use recorded popular music that I assume is copyrighted. I'm concerned that the RIAA will chase us down.

Asked on 11/18/07, 11:13 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ruth Emily Kochard Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Copyright, Entertainment, and DVD sales

From the facts you've presented, it sounds like a copywright violation--you should seek a license to use the music.

Read more
11/19/07, 1:46 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in Connecticut

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Entertainment & Sport Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now