Connecticut | Immigration Law
10/19/09, 9:25 am
Legal Question
If your an illegal immigrant can you be deported if your getting married?
If your an illegal immigrant can you be deported if your getting married?
|
Read More Answered By: Marc Seguinot |
It depends. If you mean by "illegal" that you entered the country without inspection (no docs) then you can be deported whether you marry someone or not! You did not say whether "married" means to a US citizen, but I presume that is what you mean. If you are a no docs person, no inspection, no nothing, if you marry a U.S. citizen, he or she must file an I-130 petition on your behalf. You must return to your country, wait there until you are eligible for an interview at the U.S. Embassy for authorization to obtain a visa and enter with your lawful permanent residence. If you entered the United States with a visa, legally, you may be able to adjust to lawful permanent residence in the United States by filing the petition, and simultaneously, your application for adjustment of status. In this case, nothing beats getting a good lawyer. Depending on your situation, you may be able to adjust your status in either of two ways I stated. All depends on many factors, so get thee to a good immigration lawyer who can give you the lay of the land. Good luck to you! |
|
Read More Answered By: Hisham Leil |
Marc's answer is an excellent one. If you are interested in a consulation please feel free to contact our office in Hartford, CT. (860) 524-5141 |
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Stamford, CT
Questions Answered: 546
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-16
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
West Hartford, CT
Questions Answered: 119
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Newark, NJ
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-09
► Legally enterred country at age 10 with mother and 2 younger siblings as asylee or...
► My son was born in the US and will turn 21 on Feb14th 2010. When can he begin the...
► I am currently employed by a large company on an E-3 visa. Is it possible for me to...
► Hi i would like to know if i get merried to my fiance who is in Poland and cant get...
► Immmigration through employment I am EB 3 ROW, PD Feb, 2006 My question…
► One of my friends came to USA without a visa ...and he is just 18 years old ...does...
► Hello I am 3 weeks away from getting an uncontested Divorce from my wife of 14...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in Connecticut| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press