District of Columbia | Immigration Law
Legal Question
My husband is an illegal alien in this country and we married this past spring. I am starting a new job and I'm wondering how I should classify my witholding status for taxes ie. married filing separately, married filing jointly, single, etc..Obviously, he doesn't work but I am uncertain about what to mark. We are in the process of seeking counsel to change his status which won't be immediate especially because he has a special circumstance and might need a waiver. I don't want to file as single and discount our marriage in front of immigration officials, and I don't know if I file as married if I will have to list him and jeopardize his stay here. What should I do?


