District of Columbia  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/25/09, 11:04 am

Legal Question


My mother is my sole parent now; mom and dad had trust(s) and a will drawn in DC when both were living there appointing my brother, sister and myself co-executors. But mom gave a power to my brother after dad died. Mom now lives in NC with my sister and husband near my brother; I live in CA. Recently, my brother asked my sister and me to give up our co-executorships. Is this a good idea or not? What would I be giving up and how could I protect myself? And in what jurisdiction should I seek counsel -- mom still owns her DC house and pays taxes in DC?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search