District of Columbia | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
If a relative dies and does not leave a legal will left a home which is paid for and one sister what is the legal recourse for the surviving sister?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paula McGill |
If the relative does not have living parents and only one sister, the sister needs to open a probate matter, become the executor, pay legitimate outstanding debts, collect assets, and administer the estate until there is a time for distribution. At that point, the sister would take ownership of the remaining assets.
If you need additional information about the probate process, and you don't already have counsel, I am available to discuss the matter with you.
Also licensed and practicing in Washington, DC |
Top Attorneys in DC
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Rice Law, PLLC - Web Based & Downtown Office
Wilmington, NC
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-30
Search Questions and Answers


