Florida  |  Admiralty Law

question bubble
9/11/07, 5:32 am

Legal Question


non payment for yacht delivery

I was solicited by a yacht broker to deliver a 45 sportfish, Miami to Venezuela, that he just sold to a client. The new owner is from the Netherlands and is going to document boat in Venezuela and put in charter in Curacao. After minor mechanical issues and rough weather I terminated the delivery in St Thomas for the broker to finish. I cooperated w/ broker and provided full accounting of time and money spent. Broker has deferred me to owner for payment, owner is not paying me for partial delivery and broker is assuming no responsibility even though he was acting as owners agent at time of requesting my services. I delivered the boat free from damaged and help organize crew for final leg of delivery. Can I take the Fl. licensed broker to small claims or file Int'l Lien on Vessel against new owner. Boat has already been removed from US documentation out of US.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search