Florida  |  Banking Law

question bubble
10/18/09, 1:12 pm

Legal Question


BB&T a bank in Florida held an IRA for my recently deceased aunt. The bank was given instructions from the estate attorney to divide the IRA to the heirs in the following proportions: 50% to Surviving Sister and 50% split between niece and nephew of a predeceased sister's children. The Bank mistakenly issued checks in the amount of 33.3% in lieu of estate attorney's instructions. Checks were received and verified with BB&T and credit was given to the heirs.

BB&T is now admitting that their employee made a mistake and are requesting the mistaken overpayment be sent back. The Bank waited 2-3 weeks before they caught their error and notified the heirs.

What are my legal obligations to return the money?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search