Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Judgment received - Wages about to be garnished - Do I have a chance?
A judgment was obtained against me by a company that bought a debt from a credit card company. The debt was at least 4 years old when they filed the case. I was served and at the time was dealing with a custody issue and had court the next day or day before this court date. At any rate, I missed it and a default judgment was entered against me. Now my employer has been notified to withhold my wages at the rate of 25%. The amount of the judgement is $1500. The original debt could not have been more than $800 (my limit was only $800). What if anything can I do at this stage of the game. I am willing to pay the legitimate debt but not the bogus amount of $1,500. Also, when I was served, I was told it was not a subpoena to appear in court. It read that they would be discussing possible settlement. It was not a clear indication that this was an actual court hearing, per se. I have been researching and researching since this happened and I am still very unclear of my rights. Please advise.


