Florida | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Unlawful search
I work as a tug captain, an employee that had a problem with me contacted my office and reported i was drunk while in puerto rico. The port captain came and took me to an approved facility and drug tested and breathalyer, results were negative on both. While i was gone, the office in jax authorized my accusor, an employee of mine to search my room without my presence, knowledge. While doing this he found a prescription i had for xanax written back in february, one month after my only child (15) was killed in an auto wreck, half of the 30 were still in bottle and i just had with me i didn't take while on vessel. Other problem was my mother-in-law had just died in late april and i had a bottle of her valium also in my brief case, however had never taken any. Drug tests showed no drugs or alco. My question is, one could they search my personal belongings without my knowledge and second can i be terminated for having the valium prescription in my possession, would they consider the circumstances. Again i tested zero and was again test when return to jax and tested zero. Thank you.


