Florida  |  DUI Law

question bubble
7/07/09, 9:48 am

Legal Question


Fl dui

I am 60 yrs. old and have never received a DUI, nor plan on getting one. However, I want to be armed with the best information in the event I am stopped after a couple of drinks.

Questions

1. If I think I am borderline DUI, should I: a) refuse a field sobriety test and/or b) invoke the ''right not to respond''?

2. If I refuse the field sobriety test or invoke my ''right not to respond'' will I: a) automatically lose my FL license for 1-year and/or b) possibly be arrested just for refusing a and b?

3) If I do take the breathalyzer and fail can I request a blood test? If I can, will the officer make the arrangements and will it be done after being taken to the station or before?

4) I would assume after a)exercising my right not to respond and b) decllining the field sobriety test, the officer's next step would be to administer the breathalyzer test. If I refuse the test and I win in court due to the state's lack of evdience, do I still lose my drivers license for 1-year for refusing the breathalyzer test?

Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for your time. Respectfully,--name removed--


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search