Florida  |  Elder Law

question bubble
10/20/07, 4:26 pm

Legal Question


Power of Attorney/Guardianship

I have a durable Power of Attorney for my father, who is 78 yrs old. I have never had to use it except to help him with his banking recently. It also gives me power to assume guardianship if he becomes incompetent. He has fallen numerous times, including once into the pool right in front of me (I just spent a week with him), injuring his arm, and has lost 70 pounds and four inches in height. His neighbors contacted me because they were alarmed at his appearance. He is forgetful and easily overwhelmed, but not what you would call completely incompetent. He says he doesn't need a ''babysitter''. I want him to move to a place near me where I can take care of him. (I live in Kentucky, he is in Florida.) What are my options?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search