Florida | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
As a bakery, can I base my business off of cakes and cookies that are themed around books and book covers, or does this infringe on copyright laws?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
I'm not entirely sure what you have in mind. You can use the recipes from books to make your cakes and cookies, and you can re-sell books in your shop. But, you cannot copy the book covers or the characters. For example, you cannot make an "Ace of Cakes" section with a blown-up picture of Duff Goldman. You also cannot make a "Harry Potter" section with a blow-up book cover picture. Additionally, if you propose to recreate certain characters, such as Peanuts or Disney characters, on your confections, that would be copyright infringement.
One would need to know the specifics of what you propose to form a more meaningful opinion. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
Philip A. Duvalsaint, P.A.
Coconut Creek, FL
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Kolb, Cintron, & Associates
Oldsmar,
Questions Answered: 90
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Wendell Finner, P.A.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-16
Search Questions and Answers


