Florida | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
If a product is used and many more ingredients added, does this violate the patent on that product
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Mark Torche |
In general, you cannot avoid infringement by "adding" things. If you use all the claimed items (or elements) and then add some more, you are still infringing on the underlying invention. If you use less than the claimed elements, you are likely not infringing (although you still might be found to infringe "by equivalents" if it is a very minor difference).
Of course it is seldom black and white, but this is the general rule. You should hire a professional to issue you an opinion on infringement before you start making and selling your invention or you could face a potentially expensive lawsuit.
|
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
Philip A. Duvalsaint, P.A.
Coconut Creek, FL
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Kolb, Cintron, & Associates
Oldsmar,
Questions Answered: 90
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Wendell Finner, P.A.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-16
Search Questions and Answers


