Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Florida

Right to use research process

I am doing some consulting in the area of market research and have purchased some business books from one source that goes into a series of best practices and methods they have developed. They say they have some patented information but do not spell what is and what is not. Am I allowed to read the books and apply the practices taught there? I am willing to site the books as the source of the methods? Or can i not use these methods for fear of being sued. The methods are on what types of questions to ask and research formats to follow. step 1, step 2 etc. Am I free to use the knowledge? The book is written has sort of a how to. But at the same time mention they have patented methods.

Thanks for your help.

Asked on 11/05/07, 6:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Wilfred Holness WILFRED HOLNESS
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Right to use research process

You should at least contact the author and find out what the patented methods are.

Read more
11/06/07, 5:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Intellectual Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now