In the state of Fl is it leagal to fire someone over the phone? Also is there a statue of limitations on sexual harrassment?
2 Answers from Attorneys
In Florida it is legal to fire someone over the phone. Also there are statue of limitations that apply to sexual harrassment claims. With regard to sexual harrassment in the workplace, in Florida, you must first file a charge of discrimination with the EEOC within 300 days of the discriminatory act, other states have a 180 day limit. The EEOC has offices in Miami and Tampa. You can find more information and contact numbers for the EEOC at www.eeoc.gov.
It is (unforunately) legal in Florida, like most other States, to fire someone over the telephone. Additionally, the administrative statute of limitations for sexual harassment requires that you file a Charge of Discrimination with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and/or the Florida Commission on Human Relations within 300 days of the last discriminatory act (i.e., termination, last day you were harassed, etc.). For assistance in filing your Charge of Discrimination, please contact me at (305) 810-2887.
Related Questions & Answers
Questions To Ask When Given Severance Package? The place I work is being closed down... Asked 5/13/03, 10:47 am in United States Florida Labor and Employment Law
Day care centers is there any way to operate a day care in an apartment without... Asked 5/11/03, 10:09 pm in United States Florida Labor and Employment Law
Employment Agreement Validity A person, I am interested in recruiting for the... Asked 5/11/03, 9:43 pm in United States Florida Labor and Employment Law
Slander in reports I am a former employee of a local government. The place where I... Asked 5/08/03, 1:22 pm in United States Florida Labor and Employment Law
Rights for a single parent at work. I would like to know if there is a law for... Asked 5/05/03, 9:22 pm in United States Florida Labor and Employment Law