Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Wrongfully accused, termination, slander, emotional destress
Basically, I would like to know my right as far as being wrongfully accused of aiding and abetting a former manager at the place where I was employed. I worked in the Accounting Payable dept.for 10 1/2 yrs, and this manager was forging his bosses signature. I was on FMLA/short term disability due to pregnancy, and was brought in for interrogation. I was falsly accused of being paid off to produce checks for this manager, without any proof of doing so. I was then put on paid admin. leave and two weeks later terminated for Neglegence to my job. I am emotionally distraught over this, as I have a 2 month old and no money, single parent, with NO insurance, and wrongfully accused. Is there anyway to sue the company for false accusation, slander, emotional distress? I have been told otherwise, that we do not have a case against them, as they had every right to investigate. Fine, but did they have the right to accuse us (my boss and I) of taking money as a favor to this manager, without evidence? My boss was also let go, and has 3 children. I dho hope you can lend some insight into this for us...We are at a loss.
Thank you


