Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Florida

Is it acceptable, or even legal for the government to "change terms" once a process is already in play? For instance, let's say I was charged $30 for "service of process", and then later get a bill for $10 from the court because the process server managed to later re-negotiated a higher fee for themselves?

note: not the real situation, but illustrates the issue fairly satifactorily

Asked on 12/23/12, 7:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you have a contract with someone and you pay what was agreed upon then they cannot unilaterally charge more later one.

Read more
Answered on 12/23/12, 9:00 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Florida


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Adam LambertThe Law Office of Adam S. LambertNew Orleans, LA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now