Florida  |  Military Law

question bubble
6/30/09, 9:38 pm

Legal Question


Family care plan

I have been in Army Res. for 7yrs. as an Officer-Direct Commission. At the time I joined I was legally single. A year ago, I received full custody of my son, changing my status to single parent. I never heard about FCP until I was notified that I was scheduled for deployment. Eight months later I was notified that I was scheduled for deployment 2wks later. When I contacted the person that was suppose to take care of my son, I was told that she can not do it. I immediately notified my unit, I was told that the first deployment was postponed and the issue had to be resolved. I am not able to provide a FCP in a short notice because my son suffers from a medical condition that needs continous visits to the doctor and hospitalizations and I have not found someone willing to take responsibility. (Biological mother has no parental rights) Since I notified the unit, they began requesting medical documentation (no formal request, verbal only) relating to my son: calling the hospitals/doctor without my authorization. I was called to a meeting with the unit commander on short notice. What are my rights? What is the worse case scenario? Will I need an attorney?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search