Florida | Personal Injury
Legal Question
If I was crossing a major road drunk and got hit by a car who is responsable for the medical bills
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Meyer |
If you own a car, then the PIP coverage on your own auto insurance policy is responsible for the first $10,000 of your medical bills (less any deductible). If you don't own a car, but you live with a relative and are listed as an additional insured person on their auto insurance policy, then the PIP coverage on that policy would pay the first $10,000 in medical bills. If you do not own a car, and do not live with a relative who owns a car, then the PIP coverage on the car that hit you will pay the first $10,000 in medical bills.
For any bills greater than the first $10,000, you would have to make a claim against the other driver's insurance if that policy includes bodily injury coverage. There will be a dispute as to whether you were at fault or the other driver was at fault.
These are complicated issues. We offer a free consultation and would be happy to discuss things with you if you'd like to give us a call. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of David H. Davies
Willoughby, OH
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Fenderson Law Firm
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Michael M. Tobin, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


